Nobel Prize in Chemistry Awarded for Work on Lithium Ion Battery

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino for their research in improving battery technology. The trio are well known as the "Fathers of Lithium Ion Batteries" and according to the Nobel committee, their work has "revolutionized our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles" as well as "laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society."

The three winners will share a prize of 9 million Swedish kroner ($910,000).